Club AGM

The 2019 club annual meeting  was held on Monday 11 November.

The three officers were re-elected. The are:

Mike Smith – Chair

Jo Martin -Secretary

Pam Mueller – Treasurer.

Pam did however say that after seven years as club treasurer this would be her last year and she was looking for someone to prepare to take over from her at the 2020 AGM.

All existing committee members were re-elected.

The current committee members are: Robert Burdett, Becky Bullock, Stephen Dew, Graham Jarvis, and Mark Hewgill – Mark is responsible for liaison with the Austwick Playing Fields Association.  In addition Chris Gledhill, Marco Frik and Geoff Blinkhorn all agreed to join the committee.

The meeting agreed to keep both subscriptions and match fees at the same level as last year:  ie subscriptions of £40 a year for adults, with reductions for juniors and family membership. Match fees remain at £1 per match but it was stressed that it is essential that captains collect the fees in order to meet most of the costs of providing new balls for each match.

Overall it was said that it had been a successful year for the club with both the Ladies team and the  mixed B team gaining promotion in their respective leagues. It was also noted that four club members featured in the top ten ranked players in the Wharfedale League: the ranking is based on the number of wins in the player’s respective division.

Whilst membership numbers had fallen in recent years this had been largely due to the decline in junior membership as a result of lack of coaching – something that would be addressed in the new year when qualified coach Ueli Lempen would offer weekly classes on Thursday afternoons/evenings starting after Easter. For more information see the coaching page.


Leave a Reply